Testimonials & Reviews

5/5
Washington Center for Women's and Children's Wellness (WCWCW) -  - Child, Adolescent, Women’s & Reproductive Psychiatry

Washington Center for Women's and Children's Wellness (WCWCW)

Child, Adolescent, Women’s & Reproductive Psychiatry located in Bethesda, MD and offering Telehealth appointments in Maryland, Virginia, DC, Florida and Michigan

21 total reviews

Washington Center for Women's and Children's Wellness (WCWCW) always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 21 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Washington Center for Women's and Children's Wellness (WCWCW) below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Kimberly S.
Submitted 07/12/22
Dr. Hookman is the best. With psychological expertise and compassion she has changed my life. She was available for me when I really needed a professional and continues to improve my life with regular meetings. She’s smart, kind, mindful and attentive. I’m very happy that I found Dr. Hookman and look forward to continuing with her and improving my life.
Renee G.
Submitted 06/09/22
Dr. Hookman is incredibly tuned into her patients' needs and goals. She devises custom treatment plans that are right for each patient. She keeps up with the latest trends in her field, and provides patients with options that best suit their lifestyles. She is happy to reevaluate and make changes when patients desire them, all while providing the highest level of medical care.
Olivia M.
Submitted 06/08/22
Amazing place for pre-pregnancy, pregnancy, surrogacy, adoption and post-pregnancy support. These folks will hold your hand at all phases of the process. Whether it's guidance, information, counseling, medication, or something else that you need, they will help you through it. Whereas you might get only a few minutes of time with your OBGYN, WCWCW will answer all of your questions and provide support and encouragement to make your parenting journey go as smoothly as possible.
Andi N.
Submitted 06/08/22
The women who run and work at this Center in addition to being medical and therapeutic experts are empowering and inspiring. This is an extra bonus benefit to visiting this office. Well done!
Ellie L.
Submitted 06/07/22
It’s sometimes hard to come to a psychiatry/psychology practice for the first time. You might be concerned about what it will be like and what it means to seek help. WCWCW is warm and welcoming from the moment of arrival. The ambiance is comfortable and modern. The staff is helpful and pleasant. The doctors and therapists spend the time with their patients that they need to make them feel better and at ease. Take the first step and come in for a visit. These practitioners are there for you and will take care of your health and well-being.
Jennifer G.
Submitted 06/06/22
Joy uses knowledge, compassion, and insight to help me get to my own truth.
John B.
Submitted 06/06/22
Only wonderful things to say about WCWCW. Professional, caring, qualified, and present. For anyone who isn’t sure about reaching out for guidance/therapy/growth - I can tell you, it’s one of the best decisions I’ve made and luckily I found the right place.
Jill P.
Submitted 06/06/22
They are so accommodating and helpful. It's a blessing to have them as a part of one's medical team!
Amanda F.
Submitted 06/03/22
I met Dr. Hookman for the first time 3 weeks after I had my first child in 2010. I'd had several miscarriages and finally had the baby I'd wanted for so long but I couldn't feel anything. Actually, all I could feel was fear. Fear that I'd made a huge mistake because I wouldn't be a good mother, fear that something terrible would happen to my baby - I just wanted to get in the car and drive away. I couldn't stop crying and didn't want to touch my baby. Our obstetrician said I probably had Postpartum Depression and told me "go see Dr. Hookman - she'll help you." And she did. I can tell you that I've never met a doctor who made me feel so comfortable. Even though I thought I was the only one who had ever felt like this and that I'd never get better, she assured me that I would and that everything would go back to normal. It didn't happen immediately, but every day was a little bit better. Dr. Hookman gave me her cell phone number and said I could call if I needed her. Just having that number helped more than I can say. Since then, I've had two more children and have not had to deal with PPD again. I've been through illnesses, marital and job stress and parenting confusion and have always been able to count on Dr. Hookman to help me work through it. What I like the most is that she isn't judgmental and really listens. I can say anything. I liked the old office but the new one is more convenient (it's in the same complex with my other doctors) and really beautiful. I've referred several friends and family members to Dr. Hookman but it can be hard to get an appointment with her so they've seen other doctors there and have had very good experiences, as well. The office manager is super sweet and easy to talk to. The only thing I would ask is that Dr. Hookman have later hours, so I could see her after work but I know she has three kids of her own to get home for. She is also out-of-network and expensive, but I think you get what you pay for so I don't mind and my insurance reimburses some of it. The other doctors, I think, charge less. If you think you might need to see a psychiatrist, don't wait - just make an appointment. You won't regret it.
Tom S.
Submitted 06/03/22
I can offer nothing but high praise for WCWCW. My marriage was in crisis mode when we first met with Joy Paul for marriage counseling. Our first session was, as you can imagine, difficult and emotionally charged. Joy allowed the emotions to flow, intervening when our discussions were on the verge of spiraling out of control, and separated us when it did spiral out of control. After talking to us separately, she brought us together...and the enmity between us had dissapated. We were able to complete the session, listening to each other with compassion rather than resentment. My wife and I are creatures of emotion. When Joy separated us, I was fairly well convinced that the possibility of reconciliation was hopeless. Seeing the smile on my wife's face when I reentered the room was like a narcotic. From then onward, then tenor of our sessions changed, defined by compassionate and understanding rather than resentment and hostility. Both my wife and I went to the session thinking success was a long shot. Joy was able to navigate us through the fog of emotion such that we both left the session smiling, hopeful, holding hands. We understood each other so much better. We absolutely have a lot of work to do, but we both feel much closer and more connected, and we continue to make progress with Joy's help and guidance. Joy is simply brilliant and her approach to counseling is masterful.
Julia H.
Submitted 06/03/22
Absolutely in a heartbeat I would recommend. Me and my daughter are patients and I am so happy I found this place. Amazing Doctors and Therapists.
Jennifer F.
Submitted 06/03/22
I love the fact that I can talk about things, being listened to, and not be judged at all! It is helpful to hear suggestions as well!
Colleen C.
Submitted 06/03/22
Professional, helpful, very talented staff. Lovely facility.
Joyce E.
Submitted 06/03/22
I have been a client of Dr. Hookman for many years. She is capable, competent and caring and has been a treasure to me in so many ways. I would not hesitate to recommend her in any way. The staff is also competent and has been very helpful, over the years, especially Eliska.
Renee G.
Submitted 06/03/22
Professional, knowledgeable, personable, helpful, wonderful.
Kevin S.
Submitted 06/03/22
The staff and the doctors at WCWCW go out of their way to communicate clearly. They respond with a high level of compassion and understanding, and emphasize flexibility when it comes to helping their patients.
Saskia E.
Submitted 06/03/22
For anyone considering reaching out and looking for support, guidance, and sense - don't hesitate. I have only wonderful things to say about WCWCW - full of talented compassionate and dedicated professionals. I feel fortunate to have found such a gem.
Ashley P.
Submitted 04/18/22
Dinah E.
Submitted 04/15/22
Dr. Wesley is very good at understanding my situation and needs and helping me through it. She's a good listener, and has a vast amount of experience and knowledge to best support her patients.
Binila A.
Submitted 03/31/22
Amy has been so helpful. My 11yo son loves his appts with Amy.